Quick Update – January 2015

Happy New Year and thanks for reading! It’s been a busy few months since my last post. I had family visiting over Christmas, a concert with Leeds Baroque and coursework for my two library school modules to complete before the holidays.

I also feel like I’ve been signing a lot of petitions lately. Library of Birmingham, Barnet Libraries and others are facing cuts. While I acknowledge that we are living in difficult times due to the ‘current economic climate’ and I know budgets have to be cut, it’s still a shame to hear of important services getting the axe. Especially ones that do so much for literacy and access to information.

I’ve also been working on promoting the Music Libraries Trust bursary scheme for the upcoming IAML (UK & Irl) conference in April at Aston University, Birmingham. If you are interested in this opportunity, please visit http://www.musiclibrariestrust.org to learn more.

In the next few weeks, I will be blogging about my new job, my old job and what I’m learning so far on my librarianship course.

Leave a Reply

