I’ve started a MOOC

I recently enrolled on a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) offered by Syracuse University iSchool entitled New Librarianship and taught/run by R. David Lankes and others.  I signed up because it sounded interesting and relevant, and the fact that it was free (well, mostly, I had to buy the textbook) and self-directed was a plus.  I did a few online courses in my undergrad, so it will be interesting to compare the experiences.  Here is a good overview by Helen Blanchett of the pros and cons of MOOCs and general debunking of the surrounding hype (“HE is dead!”).

This particular MOOC is offered in guided mode from July, which I thought was ideal because then you can engage with the tutors.  After July it is still available but without guaranteed tutor involvement.  I’ll be blogging and tweeting about how it goes!

3 thoughts on “I’ve started a MOOC

  1. Hi Megan,

    I was recently looking at Librarianship at Syracuse myself, to study in person, but I ruled it out quite early on for a number of reasons. I’d be interested to hear how it goes.

    Good luck with it,

    Carla

  2. Hi Carla, I see that you’re the Leeds Uni GT. If not Syracuse, are going onto library school next? I’m actually a Leeds graduate and am waiting to see the traineeships advertised, but word on the street is they will not be offering any for 2013-14?

  3. Sorry I have just found some comments which I didn’t see at the time, including yours! To answer your questions, yes I am starting at Rutgers in September and no, there was no Graduate Trainees last year, or for the foreseeable future!

Leave a comment